All the way from Austin (Texas ) we interviewed Elizabeth García, vocational educator : ” I believe that we, the pedagogues, should give ourselves the value and pride that our profession deserves”

Foto Elisabeth

Elizabeth Garcia was born in New Jersey (USA) but she has lived in Madrid since she was three years old. He studied Pedagogy at the Complutense University and she specialized in the promotion and defense of children’s rights. When she finished her studies, she decided to focus her career in childhood and the non-formal education field. In the summer of 2012 she started a new personal and professional adventure in Austin, Texas. 

Elizabeth,Why did you decide to study Pedagogy?

I have been interestedin childhood and education since I was very young. I was hesitating between studying Pedagogy or Journalism but I finally opted for Pedagogy andduring my time in college, I realized that I had made ​​the right choice. I soonknew that I wanted to work in the fields mentioned above.

Do you think Pedagogy is valued as it deserves?

I believe that we, the pedagogues, should give ourselves the valueand pride that our profession deserves. And the best way to do it is through our daily work and a positive attitude towards the enormous challenge we face: educate.

Why did you go to the United States?

My enthusiasm and the chance to start a new stage in my career brought me to Austin. It was a challenge but at the same time it was a great privilege. We initially planned to come for a few months but we have been living and working in Austin for three years now.

Despite of living far away from Spain, you are still linked to our country. What are the differences between “practicingpedagogy”here in Spain and there, in the United States?

Yes, I keep in touch with a lot of colleagues that I have met during the years I worked in Madrid and I still collaborating with some educational projects (all thanks to new technologies!)

There are many similarities but also major differences: one of the main ones is that here in USA “Pedagogy” doesn’t exist as a degree. If I had to highlight one thing that I like about educators in Austin whom I have met over the years, it would be their positive attitude and their enormous creativity. I would also highlight the deep sense of community that exists here. It involves families, organizations, business, media… working together in this great challenge of educate.

In addition to your job you spend your time working on your blog and it is being very successful. What inspires you to write each article and involve many people?

Thank you! After three years dedicating time to my blog I continue enjoying it very much and especially, in these last months and thanks to social networks, I have met very interesting people who have added much value to each post. There are excellent professionals working in the field of education and childhood and there are really innovative projects. The problem is that we don’t know about them, especially if we talk about those who are held in the field of non-formal education.

Elizabeth’s blog: http://www.infanciayeducacion.com

Tell us about your recent motherhood and its meaning in your life. How did this experience changed your life ?

I always thought that being a mother was a huge responsibility and I wasn’t sure if I would take such a great step until I found the right person to share this adventure with.We have been together for six years and now, with my 2-years-old girl and my two-months-old boy, I feel the luckiest person in the world. Thanks Elizabeth, regards from Spain.

Esta entrada fue publicada en ARTÍCULOS TRADUCIDOS, EDUCACIÓN, ENTREVISTAS y etiquetada , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Una respuesta a All the way from Austin (Texas ) we interviewed Elizabeth García, vocational educator : ” I believe that we, the pedagogues, should give ourselves the value and pride that our profession deserves”

  1. Pingback: Elizabeth Garcia | Infancia y Educación

Responder

